Warhammer 40K Rules Quiz #3: Weapons

This entry is part 3 of 8 in the series Warhammer 40K 5th Edition Quiz

QuizOne of the easiest ways to become a better 40K player is to know the rules inside and out. Even veterans will re-read the rules to freshen up and make sure they know their stuff. So, I thought it would be fun to do a 40K quiz. I’ll chop the rulebook into sections and post a quiz for each. I’m aiming to quiz on the more obscure stuff and by obscure I mean items you may have overlooked, not known or always been fuzzy on. Some questions will be easy but hopefully overall the quizzes will be a challenge to anyone taking them. Oh, goes without saying but don’t use the rulebook to look up the answers. I want to test knowledge, not ability to research.

I meant to include the weapons into the last quiz but completely forgot. So, here’s a short one for weapons. The first part of the quiz can be found here and the second part here.

1) What is the proper sequence for firing a blast weapon:

A) Measure range, place the marker over a model and roll scatter
B) Pick a model, measure range and roll scatter

2) If a blast weapon scatters out of range of the weapon do you still resolve any hits or is the shot now invalid?

3) Twin-linked template weapons get what advantage?

4) What happens if you roll a rending hit against a vehicle?

5) What strength do sniper weapons count as?

6) Do units in area terrain get cover from barrage weapons?

7) What is special about lance weapons?


1) B

2) It’s fine to scatter out of weapon range and so you resolve hits normally

3) Re-rolls to wound

4) You roll an additional D3 for armor penetration

5) 3

6) Yes

7) They count armor values higher than 12 as armor 12


Series Navigation

<< Warhammer 40K Rules Quiz #2: Movement & ShootingWarhammer 40K Rules Quiz #4: Assault Phase & Morale >>
%d bloggers like this: