Mission: Divide & Conquer v1.1.1

Mission: Divide & ConquerClarifying victory points and tightening up the points gained on quaternary. Also further clarifying spearhead deployment with regards to 6th.

You can get a print friendly version here.

Divide & Conquer v1.1.1

Primary (15pts) – Divide & Conquer (see below)

Secondary (10pts) – Kill Points (see below)

Tertiary (5pts) – Hold more objectives using the standard objective rules (pg. 123). Objective placement is noted below in Divide & Conquer.

Quaternary (+1pt) – For each of your elite, fast attack or heavy support units that are in a zone that you’ve claimed. This only counts for units taken as part of your roster, IE: not spawned units.

Divide & Conquer
The table will be divided into 5 zones by placing objectives. From the center of the table measure 18″ to the east and west (towards the short edges), and place objectives there. From the center of the table measure 18″ north and south (towards the long edges), and place objectives there. This will create a diamond-like shape.

You are trying to capture the zones. Each table quarter, minus the center area created by the objectives, is a zone. The center area, as defined by the inside area of the objectives, is the fifth zone. To claim a zone you must have more victory points (see below), within a given zone than the enemy. Units in more than one zone will contribute towards the zone the majority of the unit is in. If the unit is evenly split between two zones then you must declare which zone they are contributing towards as they can’t claim more than one zone.

Kill Points
For each enemy unit destroyed you get 1 KP (kill point). ICs and dedicated transports are also worth a KP. Units that have fled off the board, or are fleeing at the end of the game, are worth KP. Also any units in ongoing reserves at the end of the game are also worth KP.

Victory Points
Any unit destroyed is worth as many victory points (VPs), as it cost. This means that a unit that costs nothing, such as spawned units during the game, is not worth VP. Any unit falling back, or has fallen back off the table, at the end of the game counts as destroyed and is worth full VPs. Any units in ongoing reserves at the end of the game are counted as destroyed and worth full VP. Any units at or below half strength are worth half their cost in VPs (round all fractions up). Any units that are single models (IE: independent characters, monstrous creatures, etc), are worth half their value if they have lost half or more of their wounds. Vehicles are worth half value if they have lost half or more of their hull points and/or suffered an immobilized result.

* All objectives are completely impassable. They cannot be moved upon by anything whatsoever, no exceptions.

** If a mission is tied or neither player achieve it, with the exception of the quaternary, then both players split the points for that mission rounding up. Also, If you table your opponent (destroy his/her entire army), then you may use the remaining turns, if there are any left, to achieve the missions. Tabling your opponent is not an automatic win, you still need to accomplish the missions.

Spearhead – The player who chooses deployment zones selects a table quarter and the other player deploys in the one diagonal from that. You deploy in your table quarter respecting the center zone which you cannot deploy in.

Your table half is the entire board length you deployed in up to 24″ in, including the dead-zone, IE: same as Dawn of War. Your table edge is the entire board length on the side you deployed on.

Game Length
Standard game length (pg. 122), or time, whichever comes first.

Special Rules
Night Fighting (pg. 124), Reserves (pg. 124)

  • bkbutlerme

    Your “table half” for placing fortifications is the entire table quarter you’re in, including the deployment dead-zone. Your table edge (for purposes of reserves or falling back) is the entire long board length on the side you deployed on.

    • JustHippie

      So my table half is only a table quarter? Why?

    • TheRhino

      That is incorrect. Your table half is the entire half of the table in which your starting quarter is located. So, if you take the SW corner, your table half is the entire southern half of the table.

  • bkbutlerme

    I dunno…it is the way he wrote it. I suggested since you deploy in a corner, it should be more like the Vanguard deployment definition of table half (BRB P119).

%d bloggers like this: